Sanjeevni Today

Pune Test: Kohli, Agarwal and bowlers power India to series victory against Proteas

Sanjeevni Today 13-10-2019 05:36 PM

Pune Test: Kohli, Agarwal and bowlers power India to series victory against Proteas

Pune. India scripted history on Sunday as they beat South Africa by an innings and 137 runs in the second Test to take an unbeatable 2-0 series lead in three-match Test series, here at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium. India bundled out South Africa for 189 on the fourth day to set the new record for most series wins (11) at home in Test cricket. Before the start of the series, India and Australia jointly held the record with 10 successive home Test series wins.

Also read this news:Hockey India announces 22 players for Senior Men's national coaching camp

Earlier on Saturday, the Proteas were bowled out for 275 just before stumps on Day 3 in their first innings in reply to India's 601 for 5 declared. On Day 4 of 2nd Test match, India for the first time ever in their history, forced South Africa to follow-on in Pune, having gained a heft 326-run 1st innings lead. The bowlers backed up the captain's decision as Ishant Sharma dismissed Aiden Markram (0) in the very first over on Day 4. Soon after, Umesh Yadav removed Theunis de Bruyn (8) as wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha took a brilliant catch down the leg side.

With two quick wickets inside the first six overs, the spinners came to bowl and kept the pressure on the visitors. Ravichandran Ashwin got rid of Faf du Plessis (5) for the second time in this match and then sent back Dean Elgar (48) to bag two wickets in successive overs and reduced the Proteas to 74 for 4 at lunch.

With his 2 wickets, Ashwin moved to number 23 on the list of all-time highest wicket-takers in Tests with 356 wickets to his name. He crossed Australian legend Dennis Lillee and Sri Lanka veteran Chaminda Vaas, who had 355 wickets each.

After the break, Quinton de Kock couldn't do much and got out to Ravindra Jadeja in the second over of the second session for 5. Meanwhile, Temba Bavuma showed some resistance and scored 38 off 63 balls before Jadeja sent him back to bag his second wicket.

However, the South Africa tail once again refused to go down without a fight as Vernon Philander and Keshav Maharaj frustrated the Indians with their 56-run partnership for the 8th wicket. They took the team to tea at 172 for 7.

Umesh then came back for his final spell and got rid of Philander (37) and Kagiso Rabada to break the Proteas' resistance. In the very next over, Jadeja trapped Keshav Maharaj (22) plumb in front of the wicket, giving India an innings and 137 runs victory.

Umesh Yadav and Ravindra Jadeja both picked 3 wickets each in the final innings while R Ashwin bagged two. Mohammed Shami and Ishant Sharma got one wicket apiece. Umesh and Ashwin both ended with 6 wickets in the match.

This win was India's biggest innings win over South Africa in Test cricket, beating their previous best of an innings and 57-run victory at the Eden Gardens in 2010. Overall, this was India's 10th biggest innings win in Tests.

After this win, Indian captain Virat Kohli now ranks 3rd on the list of captains with most wins till their 50th Test with 30 victories.

Steve Waugh leads the list with a record 37 wins with Ricky Ponting following second with 35 victories in 50 Test matches. Kohli's predecessor MS Dhoni had registered 26 wins in his first 50 Test as captain and is ranked joint 5th along with Michael Vaughan and Mark Taylor.

Kohli also joined the likes of Stephen Fleming, Alastair Cook and Steve Waugh as only the 4th ever captain to score a century in his 50th game at the helm. South Africa will now look to play for pride when they take on Indian in the third Test in Ranchi from October 19.

Brief Scores:
India 1st innings: 601 for 5 declared South Africa: 275 and 189 all out in 67.2 overs (Dean Elgar 48; Umesh Yadav 3/22, Ravindra Jadeja 3/52, Ravichandran Ashwin 2/45).

More From Sports

Trending Now